What are Hazardous Materials (Dangerous Goods)?

Hazardous materials/dangerous goods need to be handled with utmost care and consideration of the dangerous nature. Any misdeclaration, miscommunication or incorrect documentation could have severe consequences and could prove disastrous to human lives on ships or airplanes.

In the IMDG or the International Maritime Dangerous Goods Code, substances are divided into 9 classes. A substance with multiple hazardous has one ‘Primary Class’ and one or more ‘Subsidiary Risks’. Some substances in the various classes have also been identified as substances harmful to the marine environment (MARINE POLLUTANTS).

Here are the 9 classes:
Class 1 – Explosives
Class 2 – Gases; compressed, liquefied or dissolved under pressure
Class 3 – Flammable liquids
Class 4 – Flammable solids; Substances liable to spontaneous combustion; Substances which, in contact with water, emit flammable gases
Class 5 – Oxidizing substances (agents) and organic peroxides
Class 6 – Toxic and infectious substances
Class 7 – Radioactive materials
Class 8 – Corrosives
Class 9 – Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles Non-classified materials

If your cargo is hazardous, you must be certified to handle hazardous materials or you are required to use a company that is certified in handling hazmat cargo. The shipper is required to prepare the IMO or DG Declarations.
If you have questions on hazardous cargo, please call our office as we are happy to answer your questions as we are certified in the handling of dangerous goods by air and sea.

Posted in Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *